The amazing 144 secrets of Nature

Secrets of Nature is an extraordinary 1922–1933 British short black-and-white documentary film series, consisting of 144 films produced by British Instructional Films, which filmmaker, historian and critic Paul Rotha described in 1930 as “the sheet anchor of the British film industry.” The Secrets of Nature series was initiated in 1922 by Harry Bruce Woolfe, a former film distributor who had established himself with successful dramatised documentaries of the First World War, such as Zeebrugge and Mons, prior to setting up British Instructional Films in 1919 with the ambition of creating popular informational films.

He recruited F. Percy Smith, who had established himself alongside fellow film pioneer F. Martin Duncan on the Urban Science series for Charles Urban before the war, to head up the series, as well as the best curators, ornithologists, bird photographers, naturalists, ornithologists as well as natural history cinematography pioneer Oliver G. Pike, who had established himself before the war with In Birdland (1907) and St Kilda, its People and its Birds (1908).

Watch more
Plants of the Underworld

Water Folk

The Frothblower

Starting in Life

Marine models

Magic Myxies

The Nightingale